DISCUSSION MEETING ON RECENT ADVANCES IN MAGNETISM May 14-16, 2019 INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MANDI



School of Basic Sciences IIT Mandi organized 'Discussion Meeting on Recent Advances in Magnetism (DMRAM)' on 14 - 16 May, 2019. The meeting was arranged for fostering ideas and deeper understanding of the emerging aspects of fundamental and applied magnetism, a current frontier area in condensed matter physics research.

In this meeting at IIT Mandi, total participants were 70 which included 20 external participants from different Indian institutions. The meeting started with the inaugural address by Prof. T. A. Gonsalves (Director, IIT Mandi) and Prof. Ramesh Oruganti (Adjunct Professor, IIT Mandi), which were followed by 20 scientific research talks spanned over the period of two and half days. Prof. E. V. Sampathkuamaran, Prof. P. L. Paulose and Prof. K. Maiti from TIFR Mumbai gave an exposition of the subject through various probing tools. Prof. A. Taraphdar (IIT Kharagpur/IIT Mandi), Prof. P. Mahadevan (SNBNCBS Kolkata) and few other speakers gave some fundamental lectures about the theoretical aspect of various magnetic materials. Few speakers gave talks in the area of multiferroics while some speakers talked about frustrated quantum magnets, shape memory alloys and spin chain compounds. Couple of speakers talked in the area of applied magnetism.

Besides the research talks from invited speakers, there were total 20 poster presentations by the PhD scholars of IIT Mandi. Six PhD scholars from IIT Mandi also gave oral presentations. After the meeting approx. 30 participants visited Prashar lake. Other details of the meeting are follows:

Speakers:

E. V. Sampathkumaran (TIFR Mumbai), P. L. Paulose (TIFR Mumbai), Kalobaran Maiti (TIFR Mumbai), Arghya Taraphdar (IIT Kharagpur/IIT Mandi), Aftab Alam (IIT Bombay), Rudra Sekhar Manna (IIT Tirupati), Sunil Nair (IISER Pune), R. Ganesh (IMSc Chennai), Sanjay Singh (IIT-BHU Varanasi), Priya Mahadevan (SNBNCBS Kolkata), Sugata Ray (IACS Kolkata), Ashish Garg (IIT Kanpur), Vikram Tripathi

(TIFR Mumbai), J. Suryanarayana (IIT Hyderabad), Subhankar Bedanta (NISER Bhubaneswar), Sitikantha D. Das (IIT Kharagpur), Sudhindra Rayaprol (UDCSR Mumbai), Niharika Mohapatra (IIT Bhubaneswar), Kiran Singh (NIT Jalandhar), Azad Niazi (JMI New Delhi)

Conference Volunteers Team:

Sonu Chillar, Mohit K. Sharma, Mandeep Hooda, Surender Lal, Karan Singh, Sheetal, Kavita Yadav, Shailja Sharma, Rajeev Ray, Jagriti Ahuja, Dushyant Kushavah, Rakesh Bhatt

Local Organizing Committee:

Kaustav Mukherjee, C. S. Yadav, Pradeep Kumar, S. K. Pandey