ANNUAL MEETING ON PHYSICS OF STRONGLY CORRELATED ELECTRON SYSTEMS

April 02-04, 2018 INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MANDI



School of Basic Sciences IIT Mandi organized the first of 'Annual meeting on Physics of Strongly Correlated Electron Systems (PSCES)' during 02 - 04 April, 2018. This annual meeting is planned to facilitate the researchers working in the field of corrected system a platform for regular interactions and exchange of idea with the latest development on the subject. Currently the meeting is planned to be hosted by different institutions such IIT Mandi, IIT Roorkee, IIT Delhi, JNU Delhi, IISER Mohali and IISER Bhopal at different venues. In future, depending on the success of meeting some more research institutions would be added to the list of host institution.

In the first meeting of PSCES at IIT Mandi, total participants were 120 which include 70 external participants from different Institutions. The meeting started with the inaugural address by Prof T. A. Gonsalves (Director, IIT Mandi) and Prof B.D. Chaudhary (Dean Academic, IIT Mandi), which were followed by 30 scientific research talks spanned over the period of two and half days. Prof. E.V. Sampathkumaran (TIFR Mumbai) gave the historical overview and evolution of subject in the first research talk of the meeting, while Prof. Subrata Ray (IIT Mandi) highlighted the importance of the new MOF (metal organic framework) compounds in the physics of correlated systems.

Besides the research talks, there were total 40 poster presentations by the postdoc and PhD students. The poster evaluation committee selected six posters for best poster awards. The name of the best poster awardees are Dibyendu Dey (IIT Kharagpur), Mandeep Hooda (IIT Mandi), Urmimala Dey (IIT Kharagpur), Subhankar Kahtua (IMSc Chennai), Anil K. Singh (IIT Kanpur) and Neeraj Kumar Singh (IIT Mandi).

Meeting ended successfully with the announcement of venue for next year i.e. IIT Delhi. After the meeting approx. 45 participants visited Prashar Lake. Other details of the meeting are as follows:

Speakers:

E. V. Sampathkumaran (TIFR Mumbai), A. Sundaresan (JNCASR Bangalore), P. Ravindran (CU Tamilnadu), Tulika Maitra (IIT Roorkee), S. D. Kaushik (UGC-DAE Mumbai Center), S. S. Mandal (IIT Khragpur), Yogesh Singh (IISER Mohali), Brijbhusan Singh (NISER Bhubaneswar), Ajay Shukla (NPL Delhi), Rajendra Dhaka (IIT Delhi), Sanjay Singh (IIT-BHU Varanasi), Subrata Ray (IIT Mandi), G. Baskaran (IMSc Chennai), Sugata Ray (IACS Kolkata), Soma Banik (RRCAT Indore), A. K. Rastogi (JNU Delhi), S. Patnaik (JNU Delhi), L. S. Sharathchandra (RRCAT Indore), Pintu Das (IIT Delhi), Satish Vitta (IIT Bombay), Sunil Nair (IISER Pune), N. Adhikary (Tribhuvan University Kathmandu, Nepal), Vivek Malik (IIT Roorkee), Debraj Choudhari (IIT Kharagpur), Arghya Taraphder (IIT Kharagpur), Brijesh Kumar (JNU Delhi), R. Ganesh (IMSc Chennai), Ashna Bajpai (IISER Pune), Anil Jain (BARC), Kiran Singh (UGC-DAE Indore), Herbert Pfnur (Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany)

Conference Volunteers Team:

Birender Singh, Deepu, Sheetal, Sonu Chillar, Anjali, Vaibhav, Prakash Negi, Saurabh Singh, Juhi Pandey, Kavita Yadav, Shailja Sharma, Gurpreet Kaur, Rajeev Ray, Stuti Sharma, Anoop Kumar, Somnath Acharya, Neeraj Kumar, Aamir, Pavin Samuel, Mr. Rakesh Bhatt, Mohit Kumar Sharma, Surender Lal, Karan Singh, Dushyant Kushavah, Mandeep Hooda, Rajkumar, Ayush, Chandan Sharma

Local Organizing Committee:

C. S. Yadav (Convener), K. Mukherjee (Co-convener), Pradeep Kumar (Co-convener), Ajay Soni, Suman K. Pal, Hari Verma, B. Radhamany, Sudhir K. Pandey

Conference moments:















































