Conference on Spectroscopy of Emerging Functional Materials (SEFM-2017) organised at IIT Mandi during 9-10 Oct, 2017



School of Basic Sciences and Advanced Material Research Center, IIT Mandi organized a conference on the Spectroscopy of Emerging Functional Materials on 9-10 Oct, 2017 at its Kamand campus. The conference aimed to explore the recent developments in the field of functional materials and their study using the spectroscopic techniques. Functional materials have significance importance in various applied areas such as healthcare, agriculture and unconventional source of energy. The role of various spectroscopic techniques in the research area was highlighted in the conference. The conference was attended by approximately 120 participants including many eminent scientists of the country and abroad working in this areas such as Prof. Tonu Pullerits (Lund University, Sweden), Prof. K. Gonsalves (IIT Mandi), Prof Anunay Samanta (University of Hyderabad), Dr. Shobhan Sen (JNU New Delhi), Dr. J. P. Singh (IIT Delhi), Dr. Kamal P. Singh (IISER Mohali), Dr. Khadga J. Karki (Lund University), Dr. Arijit Kumar De (IISER Mohali), and Dr. Rajiv Singh (NPL Delhi) to name a few.

In the plenary lecture, Prof. Tonu Pullerits discussed the fundamental of light absorption and the separation of charges in the materials and its application. Prof. Anunay Samanta discussed the concepts of Fluorescence blinking and charge carrier dynamics in perovskite solar nanocrystals. Prof Kamal P Singh presented his interesting spectroscopic finding about the Spider web. Dr. Shobhan Sen discussed the reaction kinetics of solution via single molecular spectroscopy. A quite few presentations were focused on Surface Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy (SERS). Prof. K. Gonsalves gave an overview of the development in the field of nanofabrication of devices.

A total of 20 oral presentations and 30 posters were presented by the participants. Graduate student Abdus Salam Sarkar won the best oral presentation award whereas Birender Singh, M. Venkateswarulu and Mahesh Soni were adjudged the winners of first, second and third awards for the best poster presentation, respectively.

Conference organizing committee included Dr Suman K. Pal, Dr. Ajay Soni, Dr. Subrata Ghosh, Dr. Prem Felix siril, Dr. Pradeep Kumar, Dr. Kaustav Mukherjee, Dr. Rik Rani Koner, Dr. Jaspreet Kaur Randhawa, and Dr. C. S. Yadav.

Few Pictures from Conference:

















